Friday Finds: Fabrications

21 Sep

I am absolutely hopeless when it comes to sewing.  Pretty sure I got a “C” on my big sewing project in junior high Home Ec ( a C was pretty unheard of for this nerd ) and my attempts as an adult haven’t been much better.  But I have a great love for textiles of all colors and textures.  Not only do I completely love contemporary artists who work in fabric, but I am completely envious of their abilities.  You know what they say, those who can, do.. those who can’t, well share with others!  Check out these beautiful examples of textile art!

Structures #72 by Lisa Call

Cleveland Foreclosure Quilt by Kathryn Clark

Ada Quilt by Meg Callahan

Prairie/Wall I by Sue Benner

Lisa Call | Kathryn Clark | Meg Callahan | Sue Benner

Be sure to check out these artists’ websites, linked above for more of their amazing work.  Happy weekend!

All images are via the artists’ websites, linked above.

4 Responses to “Friday Finds: Fabrications”

  1. Terri at Time To Be Inspired September 22, 2012 at 9:00 am #

    I love Sue Benner’s work. I’m lucky enough to have one hanging in my home and it’s beautiful, but I love this new piece!

    • Lesley September 22, 2012 at 11:23 am #

      Oh, you ARE lucky, Terri! Her work is incredible.

  2. Maggie Winnall - Sewin Studio September 27, 2012 at 3:21 pm #

    I’m glad to see you include textiles amongst your exciting artsy finds-am subscribing too!- I look forward to the inspiring works you post here dropping into my inbox-it will brighten my day.

    • Lesley September 27, 2012 at 3:34 pm #

      Glad you found Artsy Forager, Maggie! I’m always on the lookout for new work– I’m in awe of textile artists. It’s such a foreign language to me, but a lovely one.

      Cheers!
      Lesley

Share your artsy thoughts!

